Republic of Belarus

Republic of Belarus

Key facts

Republic of Belarus – a country in Central Europe. It bordered on the north-western Lithuania, on the north by Latvia to the north-east and east by Russia, on the south by Ukraine, on the west by Poland. The length of the state border – 2969 km.

The length of the territory of the country from north to south and 560 km from west to east 650 kilometers. Area – 207.6 thousand sq. M. km. In the area of ​​Belarus exceeds European countries such as Greece, Portugal, Austria, the Netherlands, Belgium, Czech Republic.

The climate of Belarus is moderately continental. Its main characteristics are due to the location of the country in the mid-latitudes, the absence of mountains, with respect to the proximity to the Atlantic Ocean. The hottest month – July, the coldest – January.

In Belarus there are more than 20 thousand. Rivers and streams. The largest rivers – the Dnieper, Western Dvina and Neman. Belarus called “blue-eyed” because on its territory there are over 10 thousand. Lakes. The largest lake – Naroch (area -. 79.6 km²), the deepest – long (depth – 53.7 m).

42% of the territory is agricultural land, 42% – forest land, 6% – lakes, rivers and wetlands, 10% – other lands.

In Belarus, the six region – Brest, Vitebsk, Gomel, Grodno, Mogilev, Minsk, which are divided into 118 districts.

The number of population of the Republic of Belarus at the beginning of 2015 was 9 million. 480.9 thousand. Man, 77.3% is concentrated in its cities. In the capital of Belarus – Minsk – live 1 million 938.2 thousand people -. One-fifth of the country’s population.

Ethnic composition – Belarusians (80%), Russian, Poles, Ukrainians, Jews, Lithuanians and other nationalities.

The official languages ​​are Russian and Russian.

Republic of Belarus – a unitary, democratic, social state of law. Effective Constitution of the Republic of Belarus of 1994 with amendments and additions adopted at the republican referendum November 24, 1996 and October 17, 2004.